h1

Podcasts, podcasts

April 13, 2009

As I said a while back on Book of Grudges, I’m a total podcast nut – I listen to loads of the things, especially when commuting to work or solo grinding in MMOs. I know perceived wisdom says to listen to music, but I’d like to suggest some podcasts to help pass the time. So here, for the first time, is a list of all the podcasts I listen to, with some brief descriptions. If, after reading through the list, you have any to recommend, I’d be very interested to hear about them.

General Gaming

Virgin Worlds - Virgin Worlds is a great way to hear about developments in the MMOsphere. I may not agree with Brent on a few things (ie. I have no interest in The Agency or Free Realms!), but he’s terrific at what he does and always puts together an informative and entertaining show.

PC Gamer - this is the PC Gamer UK podcast, and I listen to it – despite the fact I don’t play many games at all. My husband and my friends are quite games-fanatic though, so it allows me to keep in touch with releases, and the contributors are always entertaining. It’s probably not work-friendly, but I love the banter between the contributors!

Shut Up, We’re Talking - Darren and Karen host a podcast where they and their guests discuss the most up-to-date or interesting MMO news. Part of the Virgin Worlds collective, it’s another one I just wouldn’t miss and have been listening to for a while. I’ve never failed to find this one particularly worth listening to.

Rock Paper Shotgun Electric Wireless Show – WHen one of your favourite websites makes a podcast, you worry they won’t live up to the wit of the website, but the guys from RPS do. Entirely. Again this covers PC games, has great repartee and may not be entirely work-safe (if you’re prone to listening to podcasts on speakers at work that is!). But it always makes me smile, gives me a great insight into games I can then recommend to my husband/friends and has that nice touch of British humour about it.

Van Hemlock’s Podcast – Another Virgin Worlds collective podcast and another classic. More self-deprecating British humour, more discussion of games and MMOs and the news around them. I had this suggested to me the last time I posted about podcasts and I’ve never looked back.

KIASAcast – From the guys at Killed in a Smiling Accident, you can see that their humour translates from page to podcast. No, I’m not obsessed with ‘Brits with Wit’, I just like to follow things that entertain as well as educate. This is a new podcast and not all that frequent, but I won’t ever remove it from my iTunes.

Game-Specific

Warhammer Alliance - The biggest fan community for Warhammer Online started up a podcast which makes for great listening and summarises the news going on about the game. I started listening at episode 2, because at the time I was slow to notice new developments, but now it’s a firm favourite.

LotROcast – LotRO doesn’t have a truly great podcast, and the choices are few, but this is a new one I’m throwing a recommendation towards, because it’s trying to do what many other podcasts achieve and I think it’ll get there. The news is good and up-to-date and I really appreciate the American host visiting EU forums to see what’s going on our-side.

There’s a bunch of other Warhammer podcasts, but many of them are infrequent and I listen to them only as and when I have the time to. Mostly it’s a hang-over from Book of Grudges work, but I no longer have the time to listen to them all. I do look forward to Theoryhammer‘s though, and I’ve heard a lot of good things about COTCast, so I might look into that soon.

Television

The other love in my life (after husband, cats and somewhere close to MMOs), is the TV. And the majority of my podcasts are TV-related. I just enjoy hearing others discuss the shows I watch because let’s face it, most of my face-to-face friends don’t watch the same shows as me.

Battlestar Galactica Podcast – episode commentaries by Ron D Moore. I’ve got a lot to go, but it’s there, in reserve for when I need them.

Galactica Watercooler – Strictly now Galactic Watercooler. Started as a BSG podcast, quickly became a massive geeky but awesome community with some extremely intelligent members. Branched out from BSG with some more general sci-fi arcs (ie. Matrix, Back to the Future, Star Wars), now covering Star Trek in the run-up to the summer film. This podcast is unmissable for me, even when time is short.

The Fringe Podcast - I only have room in my week for one Fringe podcast and this one won my initial trawl through them. I like the mix of chat about the episode and science, plus the hosts have a good chemistry. So I listen to this one and enjoy the roundtable chats with all Fringe podcasters that have come in each mini-hiatus and reminds me there are more Fringe podcasts out there I should probably listen to.

10th Wonder - I used to listen to this and the 9th, but as Heroes is sliding off my radar I cruelly cropped my listening down to 1 podcast a week. They do an after show shortish podcast and then a fuller one later in the week, but I tend to just listen to the former.

The Official Lost Podcast – One of only a few official podcasts that I listen to, the creators of Lost are hilarious and enjoy providing obtuse answers to fan questions. And each podcast is only around 20 mins long, so it’s not a hard call to listen to this one.

The Lost Podcast with Jay and Jack – Twice weekly and very professional, the hosts have a great chemistry (step-father/step-son) and treat their subject matter both seriously and with a good deal of humour. There’s great speculation and reasoning here, just what you need to help with Lost.

The Transmission – the original Lost fan podcast, created and hosted by husband and wife team Ryan and Jen, who live in Hawai’i and can pepper their podcast with shooting news (which is kept in a spoiler section for those of us who don’t want to know about scenes in advance). They get great listener feedback and discuss it well. Plus, their episode summaries are the best!

Increasingly I don’t have any more time for Lost podcasts, but I used to listen to the Joshmeister’s Lost podcast, Lost Flashbacks, and Big O’s Lost podcast as well as many many more. If I have extra time, or an 8 hour coach journey, these are some I’ll look at as I keep downloading even when I don’t have time to listen to them.

And as for one I have saved but haven’t listened to yet:

ChuckCast – Jay from the Jay and Jack podcast and his girlfriend Colleen from MetroBuzz podcast have started up a Chuck podcast. I didn’t enjoy the other Chuck podcast out there (Chuck vs the Podcast), so I’m going to give this a go as soon as I have time. I have all the eps saved, so it won’t be too long before I can go through and listen to them. But I have high hopes.

NB: I tried ALL the Supernatural podcasts I could find, but they were too full of squeeing for me, so I left disappointed that there isn’t one I love that deals with Supernatural, another of my TV loves.

Other

Limited Edition – Yet another Virgin Worlds collective member (pointing to the quality of the VW collective, so if you have a game you play and you want to see if they have one on it, I’d definitely advise checking their growing list!). As for Limited Edition, it deals with comics, comic-related games (CoH, DCUO, Champions Online) along with movies, TV and other general geeky topics that touch on comics. I listen mainly for the comics content so I can get some ideas of what to read, and because it doesn’t make me feel backwards for not being comic-obsessed.

Friday Night Comedy from Radio 4 – I wish I’d grown up listening to the radio more, then I might actually listen to it, rather than rely on such podcasts to catch me up. Tends to switch between the Now Show and the News Quiz which both offer a satirical look at the news. I prefer the News Quiz, but this is quite a nice 30-min podcast which can always ensure a chuckle.

And that’s it currently. It sounds like a lot, but they have quite different schedules and I generally get to listen to them all in any given week. Sometimes I stockpile before a long trip. But it gives you an idea of my listening, viewing and gaming habits and hopefully you’ll both take away some recommendations and be able to provide some for me (before my massive flight to Hawai’i). Will especially need more for when the TV shows go on hiatus, an that’s some of the reason I like to stockpile.

So over to you.. any you listen to that I haven’t covered? Any you plan to listen to now I’ve catalogued my personal list (scary! no hate mail please!)

5 comments

  1. Other comedy ones I like – Answer Me This and The Bugle – both British and I look forward to them appearing every week. The Bugle is more of a political satire/comedy and Answer Me This is just a bit more random.
    I gave up on LOTRO podcasts a bit but I might try that one now.
    I listen to Buzz Out Loud most days – it’s a techy one but well put together and interesting but I think there needs to be a level of interest in technology stuff!
    Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo’s Film Reviews – excellent.

    Money Box and Wake up to Money – both from the BBC and keep me up to date with some of the financial news in a fairly interesting way.


  2. […] Nerf the Cat briefly reviews some of her favourite gaming and geek-friendly podcasts. […]


  3. Some great podcasts there!

    I would recommend Idle Thumbs as a general gaming podcast. Very funny!


  4. @unwise and @piffle thanks, have added most of those to my list (bar the financial ones), they’ll be vetted when I have a moment ;p


  5. […] listens to podcasts so I don’t have to, either.  I’m […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

