h1

Some Good Stuff (LotRO)

May 13, 2009

There’s been a lot of chit-chat recently about the dearth of content for those of us at the end-game of LotRO at the moment. It’s true, Book 7 brought in very little except a bit of a grind, and that means we enter a bit of a malaise about having to grind or play elsewhere. But, as a reaction, I’ve also been thinking about a few of the little things I like about the game, ignoring obvious things like the look-and-feel and my lovely character class.

  1. Naming items, talked about it yesterday in the blog, the more we can name, the more difference it makes to us. Weapons especially suit being named. Of course the risk is there that people will name things stupidly, but really, if it’s not out in the open for everyone to see, it’s not that big a deal
  2. Content for small groups. Not just quests, but instances. LotRO brought in some 3-man instances with Moria, as well as some solo ones. Although I may have done the solo ones way too many times to really talk about them too sympathetically, they still remain a challenge to me in some way (esp the item xp ones), and I applaud their appearance in the game. The 3-man instances did remarkably well for not requiring specific classes, and I look forward to the seeing scaleable instances whenever they’re introduced. Next a game needs to work on some duo content!
  3. The cosmetic clothing system is really cool, allowing customisation beyond merely equipment that you have to wear to be more effective. It allows for some real thought and care as to what you display to the outside world, and you can have two separate outfits set up, as well as your actual equipment set. Coupled with dye it means I can dress as a pirate, or farmer, or wear a dress!! All while still in full heavy armour. Turbine have said they’re looking into cosmetic weaponry, something I know we’ll all be just as excited about.
  4. Legendary weapons/items. Items that level either with or independently of the character. It’s a n interesting concept, even if the LotRO implementation needs some tweaking (see Pearls of Unwisdom for details)
  5. Epic books, and epic questlines. despite some noticeable gaps in levels needed for the epic questline in LotRO, the fact these quests have in-depth story ramifications and a truly epic feel to them (mostly, I’m ignoring the delivery bits!) mean a lot to me. They introduce group content, interesting plots and instances, solo bits and pieces to get on with, and they have a progression to them that’s separate from other parts of the game. ie. you can get to 60 and not have finished them at all! They add storytelling and narrative to the game, and I’ll always love them in concept, even if I criticise individual ones. Other games have similar, but not quite packaged in the same way.
  6. Trophies. I’m not a massive fan of the housing, except the kin housing. But, I love the trophies from bosses and random mobs that I can mount in my personal house. We all like to show off, from titles to cool gear. Although no-one much may visit my house, I love going there and seeing all my favourite trophies out on show.
  7. The music system. Popped into my mind while I was writing about something completely different. I don’t do much with the music system, but it’s an incredible addition flavour-wise. You can learn to play different instruments, you can play original or non-original music, you can synch up with your friends and make a band. I’d love to see something like this in all games to help players expfess their creativity.
7 comments

  1. Tom Bombadil’s Theme!


    • I hate that music, it needs to be erased from my memory. Now.


  2. Eh, you could name stuff in SWG and though it did occasionally get silly, it allowed for a vast amount of goodness too.

    Confirm for me — LOTRO housing isn’t place-as-you-will, but has “hooks” in certain places where you can put stuff? That sounds just like AC’s housing (not surprising, same developer), but I’ve never been sure.


    • Music themes in housing is quite a funky addition. But yeah, we use a hooks system, and I don’t mind it, but there is a lot of asking for free-placement… (I only have a teeny house)


  3. @Ysharros

    Yep, LotRO’s housing uses hooks for placement. There are different hook categories, such as small wall, large wall, huge yard, etc, with some flexibility, i.e. small wall items fit large wall slots. Also, items can be rotated, and each collection of rooms has a hook for flooring, wallpaper and music theme.

    According to the devs, the hook system was preferred because a more flexible system would have required significantly more development time. If as many players were calling for a better housing system as are currently calling for more end-game content, then they’d probably extend it.


  4. […] (may I call you that?) shines the light of mellow happiness on LOTRO’s redeeming […]


  5. Wonderful page:D hope to visit once again=)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

