h1

BBC working with Sauron?

January 22, 2009

It’s come to my attention via a few forum posts, the BBC iPlayer and One True Cast, that I should probably mention that the BBC used Turbine’s map of the North Downs in one of their children’s programmes – The Legend of Dick and Dom, and changed all the names and called it Bottom World. Let’s just hope they had permission. There’s a couple of threads on the topic over at the Codemasters forums, if you want to get involved. Me, I emailed the BBC like a proper copyright nerd. Will let you know what they say.

And no, hammering the BBC isn’t really my favourite hobby!

3 comments

  1. I can just imagine some underpaid skivvy working in the depths of Broadcasting House being ordered to produce such a map for use on the show, and thinking, ‘Well, I could draw a map from scratch…’


  2. it’d be quite funny if they’d just asked permission and Turbine had said ‘sure’, and we’re just whipping this up into a frenzy. But I have a feeling that didn’t happen 🙂


  3. Well, I can’t imagine Turbine being too bothered about it all. It’s not as if the BBC will be generating any revenue from such a show. I wouldn’t think it’s likely to become a DVD bestseller, but then what do I know the yoof of today?



Leave a Reply

