h1

Battle.net Reborn

March 20, 2009

So Blizzard is relaunching Battle.net in the run-up to Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2 – and hey, you can even link your World of Warcraft account into the service (it’s voluntary right now, but is intended to be mandatory in the future). And what we knew as Battle.net will become Battle.net Classic.

The potential for cross-platform communications, global achievements, and actually even having multiple WoW accounts connected to one master account on Battle.net is pretty appealing. And with SOE offering the Station Pass, it’s certainly not beyond belief that Blizzard will be doing something similar, especially with the release of a few high profile games in the near(ish) future.

But at least one page I read reporting this said it would soon become a Steam-like service, offering digital downloads and that’s not a horrible concept either, I’m sure many of us are converting to Steam’s service (though I have to say I haven’t bought anything via Steam, I know my husband has and likes it). 

I did, however, dislike the old Battle.net, so I’m a bit nervous about a new one. I only every played Diablo II as a solo game or amongst friends over a household network, so I mostly heard horror stories and decided to avoid at all costs. Of course, this new service isn’t quite the same as before and frankly it makes a lot of sense!

I look forward to seeing where Blizzard go with this, and what kind of community features they add. Because we can be sure whatever they do will percolate to other games and MMOs.

One comment

  1. Awesome! Its really remarkable piece of writing, I have
    got much clear idea concerning from this post.



Leave a Reply

