h1

My Last Gaming Will and Testament

March 20, 2009

I, Arbitrary, being of almost-sound mind, do hereby write my last will and testament.

To my sisters, I leave my items, my gold, and the hideous task of having to inform people… oh, and grieve for me, of course…To my husband, I leave my accounts… and so much more…

COME ON GUYS, this is sick. I don’t go my whole life planning for when I die. If I was ill, I might give it a second-thought, but not on an average day. If something happened to me, my gaming life won’t be on my mind, I pretty much guarantee it. And that’s regardless of how much time I spend talking to my friends each night on Teamspeak. And I’m sure and I hope my family will have other things on their minds. So why all this kind of tasteless discussion.

Well, while at my sister’s house, I was catching up on my reading and came across this story on GamePolitics. Seriously, two services already set up to inform your guild if you die. Seriously?

The Ancient Gaming Noob picked up on the story from a separate link and takes the idea a little further. Could such services be used for ‘evil’ (ie. faking your death and making great ‘can I have your stuff’ jokes). It’s easy to say these things won’t happen, but I know of at least one online case of someone saying they had a fatal condition that turned out to just be a way to hang out with a few semi-famous people and garner some sympathy. And that’s just one story I know that is factual, rather than urban legend-y. People do crazy things online, anonymity turns us all a bit strange because we’re not used to it. I think there’s every possibility these services can be used misleadingly.

And while I appreciate that my gaming friends DO mean enough to me that I would want them to know if anything happened to me, they would all understand if they didn’t find out immediately and I would hope they’d rather not be told via an automatd service. But maybe I’m being glib about it purely because my husband knows how to access Teamspeak and my guild forums, and because I often game alongside my sisters who’d also have access to my guilds. But surely it’s a better idea to have a trusted friend or family member who could carry out these services for you than go to a site called Slightly Morbid or Deathswitch?

Think about it for a brief fleeting moment. But don’t go around planning for your demise!

4 comments

  1. Sign of the times I imagine. Not everyone will have a partner or family I.T savvy enough to be able to inform people or willing to do so. So perhaps having a system inform them has a market. It’s quirky but nothing more.


  2. I think you’re being glib because of your husband and probable youth.

    I had a very good online friend, who I’d known for over a decade, die of cancer not too long ago. Cancer being what it is, he was able to inform us that he was sick, and had a friend who knew one of us in the online community who let us know what had happened. But his parents and the rest of his family had no knowledge of the fact that he had a bunch of good friends online. If he hadn’t mentioned one of us to one of his friends, we’d still be waiting for him to turn up and tell us that he’d gotten better.

    I’ve had other friends vanish, too, and I have no idea if they just drifted away, or if they’re dead or alive.

    Certainly such services aren’t for everyone, and they could have picked much less distasteful names, I’ll agree. It’s a much better idea to let a trusted friend or family member know who to contact in the event of your death.

    But saying it is sick seems a bit extreme. It isn’t a matter of spending your life planning for when you die. It’s a matter of spending a few minutes planning for it.

    I wouldn’t do it for a casual guild I’m in, but I’ve got friends I’ve known online since the 80’s, and I’d like to know they’d know I hadn’t blown them off and walked away from our friendship voluntarily.


  3. I’m not entirely young, in fact, I’m already a year older than my mother was when she died. Perhaps I phrased myself wrong, I don;t necessarily think it’s not worth thinking about – who could inform online friends, but if I was ill, I’d certainly do it myself or find someone I could trust to do it.

    I wouldn’t ever sign up for an automated service, because honestly, I wouldn’t want anyone I know to be told via a mail client.

    Maybe when I’m a bit older I will plan for it, but even if I were single, I think I’d be able to find one trusted friend to give details of who I’d like to tell online. Even if it were just my twitter details or my LJ details and then let friends propagate the news from there.


  4. It does seem a little morbid but death leaves many loose ends nowadays… particularly online where we have many friends that we never meet in person, and we keep our passwords deliberately private. Agreed that an automated service would be impersonal



Leave a Reply

