h1

I Can’t Frakkin’ Believe it’s Over

March 31, 2009

I fought against watching the new Battlestar Galactica for too long. I couldn’t get my head around a female Starbuck (and yes, I’m old enough that Dirk Benedict was cute to me!). And I just couldn’t be bothered with a show I didn’t feel had any legs.

Let’s just say I thanked all the friends who bullied me into watching the miniseries and then the subsequent seasons of the show. It’s hard to put into words just how powerful BSG became. Both in terms of discussing the human condition within the confines of sci-fi, but also the writing, the acting, the incredible talent that put it all together and made us care about these characters. It overtook Babylon 5 for me as my favourite ‘space’ show, and it nudges at other shows I love (like Lost, Life on Mars, and many many more).

And it’s over and done with (aside from Caprica and the TV movie ‘The Plan’).

It’s good to see the Sci-Fi Channel (or is that SyFy now?) combine my love for BSG with my love for gaming by suggesting on their gaming blog (Fidgit) a list of games to help you get over the loss of Battlestar Galactica. I particularly like the inclusion of Phoenix Wright as a sim to let you replicate Lee Adama’s blazing but brief legal career.

Or you can hope that Bear McCreary’s super-cool, top-secret video game project is a BSG one (he was the composer on BSG, btw!). Kotaku did, but have taken down the story since this morning – bad me for not blogging it straight away.

Me, I’ll be using the extra time each week to blog, to game, and to try and play some Mass Effect before Mass Effect 2 is launched!

One comment

  1. I’m going to watch the entire series again, from the start, was a long time since I last saw the mini-series.

    Lee Adama as Phoenix Wright? Haha, it’s pretty true now when I imagine it ๐Ÿ˜›



Leave a Reply

