h1

Comics and Me

April 8, 2009

Last July a close friend went to Comic Con in San Diego and had such a good time that I couldn’t resist the temptation to say ‘get me a ticket’. And I found myself with a ticket for this year and having to deal with sorting out leave from work and flights from the UK, while he took care of accommodation (or I’d never be able to afford to go). I’m a total TV junkie, I think you probably all know that by now, but growing up, I was also a bit of a comics junkie. We didn’t get teen mags, we got Spiderman and X-Men, and then whatever else the comic shop had in it.

And that stretched into our adolescence and adulthood. I never had a lot of money, so I relied on Spinks for buying the actual comics, and then I’d read them just as voraciously and we’d discuss them a bit. AT University I’d buy crazy comics that no-one else liked (*cough* the AD&D series that I still adore, and a whole bunch of Star Trek ones, despite not being the world’s greatest Star Trek fan – I had a near-full run of Star Trek: TNG comics). I’d get the cheap ones, the ones that weren’t cool – but that I could afford.

When I went to Library School I almost did the option of a thesis, but in the end didn’t go the full Masters route. My thesis was going to be on the concept of a graphics novel library and its place in a traditional library service. And now I work in public libraries and have access to some of the newer graphic novels that I’d kind of forgotten about in the last 10 years or so…

…but because of Comic Con I’ve embarked on re-educating myself on what’s out there. I still don’t have the money I’d like to spend on the hobby, so I’m relying on the library system and recommendations (and what my husband trawls off eBay) and listening to podcasts like Limited Edition. So you may see me talk a bit about what I’m reading here in the run-up to July (and beyond).

Currently, I’m ploughing through as much of The Authority as I can get. Library had Absolute Authority vols 1 & 2 and I loved them. So now I’m reading a few of the trade paperbacks. In my pile to read are Runaways, the first collection of Secret Invasion and Tim Sale’s Tales of the Batman.

It’s unrelentlessly a nostalgia kick for me to recognise how much I like the storytelling form of the graphic novel, but it’s really like walking into a eat-all-you-can buffet, and knowing only a small selection is presented there of what’s on offer.

So any recommendations are gratefully received. I don’t know if I’ll actually review them, but at least they’ll be on my radar.

2 comments

  1. Mouse Guard.
    Blankets.
    Who Killed Retro Girl.
    Judgement Day (Alan Moore).
    Like a Velvet Glove Cast in Iron.
    Necronauts.
    The Invisibles.


  2. I was able to go to Comic-Con three years ago, and it was a blast. The highlite of my trip there was meeting Bruce Campbell, and acidentally going to the Serenity panel which introduced me to one of the greatest tv shows ever!!



Leave a Reply

