h1

Back to Pen & Paper

May 7, 2009

It’s a bit strange, but so far the most exciting announcement I’ve seen about Dragon Age: Origins, is that alongside Green Ronin publishing, Bioware is going to release a pen & paper RPG based on Dragon Age. Can’t wait.

I miss tabletop RPGs, it’s where my love of the genre started and was nurtured. I made a ton of friends that way, I know people who met their spouses at tabletop games. I never minded that it made me a geek, because I could go into a room and express my nascent creativity with a like-minded bunch, and we’d laugh for hours, get serious for a while, eat lots of pizza and just kick back and enjoy the whole world of roleplaying, while never taking it too seriously.

It’s no great secret among my friends that I haven’t actually played many Bioware games. My husband has, Spinks has, and most of my friends have. But I’ve mostly concentrated my gaming on MUSHes and MMOs, with a little Ultima back in the day.

Dragon Age is a new IP, and Dragon Age: Origins promises to be a must-buy game for late this year. But as a new IP, we’re not entirely sure what to expect if we haven’t already read every piece on the net about it. I haven’t. I follow the dragonage twitter feed, my husband actually has a friend on the Dragon Age team, but I haven’t really wanted to abuse that, as it’s an old friendship that doesn’t really touch on day-to-day contact.

But bring me a pen & paper RPG so I can indulge my love of deep backgrounds and interesting rulesets, and I’m now prepared to immerse myself into the Dragon Age universe. I will definitely be buying the RPG, and if anyone’s interested Spinks says she’ll run a game (ha ha, sucks to be you now Spinksy!!!).

4 comments

  1. Green Ronin products are generally of high quality. This is something that people should check out. Time to dig out the polyhedral dice.


  2. Kojarn: Yeah, totally agree. And Chris Pramas is a really good writer, I have very fond memories of Dragonfist.


  3. It would be a long way to travel for a game…..


    • And here I was thinking more of a TS game ;p



Leave a Reply

