h1

A-Wake

May 11, 2009

It’s been a tough couple of days for me, decision-wise. I knew I’d have to close down Book of Grudges eventually, I can’t keep blogging in two places at once, and my focus isn’t as tightly on WAR as it once was.

I didn’t expect it to coincide with my 6-month sub ending and my chosen server (Burlok) dying a death.

But sometimes you just get to feel a bit fatalistic about things. I’m not going to re-sub until June, I want some time away from it, and to reflect and consider all the changes that will come with a server change, and whether I want to stick with my Rune Priest, or continue with my Magus instead on Karak-Azgal (I hope to move my Rune Priest to K8P!).

There’s a lot of good about WAR. The community is passionate, articulate and friendly (generally). The first tiers are great fun, and the devs listen and respond to feedback (though who wouldn’t love to hear a Mark Jacobs State of the Game address about now). The Land of the Dead sounds like a great upgrade, with more solo-friendly content, better handling of wards (d’oh, this should really have been in a while back since it annoyed so many) and an alternate end-game. There’s a lot of hope at the end of the tunnel.

But I personally need a few weeks away from it all.

As for Book of Grudges, the content under my sole command definitely suffered, and I feel I’m secure enough with posting here that I can make all my WAR commentary here just as easily now and I’m not just giving up on blogging per se. Thanks to everyone that’s been supportive of this new blog, and to Spinks and my friends for putting up with me for so long!

Expect my first Warhammer-related posting soon (it might be messy, but we had an interesting idea down at the pub. Oh boy!)

12 comments

  1. Aww, Book of Grudges and Burlok in the same week… Still, new life after both; hurray! for this blog, and I might well move Zoso to Eight Peaks too (or possibly Norn, haven’t entirely decided) where hopefully Land of the Dead will perk things up a bit when it’s out.


  2. Sad news but not overly suprising the spring of MMO life has well and truely dried up at the moment


    • and of everyone who reads this, you know best that I’m too lazy to write two blogs consistently. But, I really do have a good WAR post to compile, I just need to get the bits and pieces to make it happen.


  3. End of an Era!

    So sorry I didn’t make it down at the weekend, I have had a nasty chest infection for the best part of a fortnight, and I couldn’t muster the energy to travel down to London, I had my train ticker bought and everythin! At the moment, the Guild is deciding where to move ( http://forum.rajatapaukset.com ). It will be either K8P or KN, I’ll keep you posted. I’ll really miss Burlok, and I will really miss BoG. I miss Kaja the most though!


    • yeah, don’t be a stranger and get better soon! really! you introduced me to champagne marmite. I’m now split between KN and K8P myself… so will be interested to hear where you go.


      • We’ve gone to KN. It’s scary and new and I fear change, I’m not sure about it yet. I am the highest rr Runepriest on the server though.. 😉


        • Ok, think it might be KN for me too. You totally deserve to be top-rated though, cos you’re da best! (in Orcish terminology)


          • Awwwww, you! 🙂

            When you resub, come over and join the Guild! Me and Orlock are co-leaders now (with Silatharion), I can finally take you to the Altdorf Dungeons!


        • I moved Zoso over last night, Tier 4 scenarios were popping within minutes!!1! Was going to join a fortress assault, and got ported to a warcamp ‘cos there were too many people.

          Had to run through a bunch of names before finding one, though. Thought about giving him a heavy metal umlaut or two, but decided against it, so he’s now called Zuikaku.


          • to KN, Zoso?

            I won’t be back till early June, need a little while off.


            • Oops, forgot to mention the server; yup, Norn. Not sure how much I’ll play ’til Land of the Dead comes out, but it’s nice to know there’s stuff going on.


        • Karak Norn you say? Still there by any chance?….

          …you never know who might stop by!



Leave a Reply

