h1

*groan*

June 5, 2009

So, is it the week of the fake, or what?

First the dull Sacha Baron Cohen and the erstwhile likeable Eminem stage a dumb stunt at the MTV awards. It didn’t make me laugh, and to find out it was staged… just makes me hate it a little bit more. Yes, some people have laughed, yes, it’s being talked about – even by me – but I still hate it. The chances of me seeing the Bruno film haven’t increased!

And then, at E3, EA creates a fake Christian demo against Dante’s Inferno. It’s E3, an event created to get you media coverage. A rubbish demo that’s found out to be a fake… not so cool, EA. The anti-Dante campaign even has a website (trust me, anti-Dante would have been a great name for it – well, maybe not). My husband just suggested a bunch of literary students would have made a more amusing demo than going for the easy religious target… ha ha!

I’m waiting for the 3rd fake incident to occur now, I wonder if someone else has taken over my blog for the good of mankind!

[Edit – ah, here we go. Spinks just notified me of this beauty. EA, not content with fake Christian protesters, has now decided to rewrite the 10 Commandments for some headlines:

For those wondering, the following four of the original fifteen ten commandments were replaced:

•  Remember the Sabbath day and keep it holy.

•  Thou shalt have no other gods before me.

•  Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image; you shall not amke for yourself any idol, nor bow down to worship it.

•  Thall shalt not take the Lord’s name in vain.

The new additions:

•  Respect all people, regardless of race, religion, or sexuality.

•  Do not commit acts of terrorism.

•  Respect and protect the planet.

•  Do not be motivated by greed.

‘Nuff said. Someone at EA has issues.]

2 comments

  1. I would have gladly joined a picket line against the game purely because it sounds like they’re making a mockery out of a significant piece of Western literary history. This sounds like the sort of thing that gets used as a throwaway gag in some slapstick satire, only it turns out to be real.


  2. Cool. Now can I go over to EA’s homes and picket their mothers in a disrespectful, satirical fashion to boost traffic to my blog?



Leave a Reply

