h1

Dizziness – Mea Culpa

June 9, 2009

It’s not too controversial to note that a lot of people seem to be hopping MMOs, hooked on the new, shiny MMO feeling. It’s awesome to be in a game right from the moment the floodgates open, to spill out into a new world with hundreds of people in the same situation, to fight to distinguish ourselves, to learn new systems, to tackle the economy, crafting, gear, fighting and making new friends and acquaintances. There’s nothing quite like it in any other gaming sphere. And for me, that’s one huge part of the appeal of MMOs.

But, as with any rush, there comes a downer… grind time. It may not actually be grinding, it could be repeating content to get gear you want, it could be a general malaise in struggling to reach the level cap or the crafting level cap. It could be dealing with your class being nerfed, or even tweaked and buffed to the extent that it loses some of the things you loved about it. But an MMO is an evolving world and experience. Gameplay changes (as the warnings say), but also moods do, excitement levels don’t maintain themselves, and what really appeals to one person may turn another off.

Right now we have more choice in MMOs than we ever have. When I started playing I think I had the choice of Ultima Online, Everquest or Dark Age of Camelot – in terms of games I’d heard of and was likely to play anyway. Once I pinned my loyalty onto Dark Age of Camelot it didn’t even occur to me to play another game. I put in my time, did the grind, had both good and bad times until I came to the realisation my time with the game was done.

The same with World of Warcraft. While playing it, I was focused, I played a druid to level cap 5 times from the Alpha onwards. I didn’t notice the grind until I was bored of the game, or something changed to annoy me about it. I never really considered ducking back to DAoC to revisit it.

Now, in the last few months I’ve played WAR, LotRO, Vanguard, Age of Conan and Aion and I’m more disillusioned than ever about MMOs. I’ve enjoyed each of them in their own way, but it’s unsettling to be popping in and out of an MMO world for me. It’s not how I’m used to playing them, and it’s turning me restless. Which is not a usual state for me in an MMO. Left to my own devices I’d probably just stick with LotRO and fill in the quiet times with grinding or replaying old content to help others, or to finish deeds and traits and get gear I’ve always wanted. Giving me options unsettles me it seems. So some of my general malaise is from all this game-hopping.

I feel like a tourist when I try a game knowing, in my heart, that I probably won’t play beyond a month. Most of the time I like the game, I would happily go and play each of them, but I can’t deal with the distractions, I need more of a schedule, more of a happy medium and more permission to just exist and experience the world, not just do the quests and level. That’s what an MMO is to me, and that’s what it has to be to me.

I am talking with Spinks about a one-night/week foray into EQ2. It’s intended to be a more fixed and casual experience, and to give me an alternative to LotRO, but taken at a pace I can handle. I think perhaps sampling many games has been a double-edged sword, it gives me a fix of ‘new MMO’ (or new to me), but it doesn’t last. Maybe when my group finds the one we all feel strongly about it will, and the focus will shift a bit.

There’s a lot more MMOs coming out, and a lot of them look mildly interesting to me. No, I’m not really excited about any barring World of Darkness, and I appreciate the wait for that might be a long one! I’m interested in quite a few, and I’m sure now I’ve started, the MMO testing/hopping will continue – but at least I recognise that it, in itself, is partly to blame for my general malaise.

2 comments

  1. I’m finding EQ2 to be great, for very similar reasons. I’m not suffering from altitis there at all, and the whole game seems to cater for the range from casual to hardcore better. If you want to just poke around, do some quests, do some crafing, pick flowers, you can go for it at your own pace, and equally, if you’re a top-line Achiever, there’s plenty to achieve.


  2. Choice can be paralysing, and too many MMOs can end up feeling very empty. Part of it is that we’re getting too experienced overall, maybe (nothing is as shiny as NEW shiny).

    I do very little questing and levelling in EQ2 — well, actually, I’ve done quite a bit of levelling but it’s been mostly incidental and/or unintentional, while doing other much more fun things (to me). It’s a pretty large world, even despite the zoning (which I really hate, but live with), there’s butt-tons of history and lore, lots of hidden stuff. I realise I’m not very achievement-oriented so it could be that I feel like there’s lots to do because I don’t usually get lots done, if that makes sense, but it might be worth a try anyway.

    It’s worth trying it out if only to see if it can feel like home, I would say. (WAR never really did in the end, too many things missing for me — same with WoW and many others.) However, if you’re really quite happy with LOTRO, I’m not sure why you feel you *have* to game-hop — unless Spinks is game-unhappy atm and you’re keeping her company (which I can well understand, Mort and I do that all the time).



Leave a Reply

