h1

Place your bets!

June 22, 2009

Ok, bored. So, let’s take some answers/bets. And who knows, I might even drum up a prize for whoever guesses closest to what actually happens.

1. When will Turbine announce the next LotRO expansion (believed to be Riders of Rohan)?

2. When will next expansion actually open for business?

Spread the word, I’ll compile the guesses next week for us to peruse.

(for the record, Mines of Moria was announced at Connect 08, last March and the expansion arrived in November)

9 comments

  1. I think an announcement in July and a release of early December..


    • I think we need guessed dates, so I can award prizes ;p


  2. I think that if we don’t hear about it in July, then we won’t see it until next year, so for now I’ll be optimistic and agree with piffle 🙂


    • Go on, unwize, guess some actual dates! (I already know my bet, but figure I shouldn’t take part)


  3. Ok, I’ll say July 20th announcement.
    Book 9: September 22nd, 2009.
    Rohan: January 21st, 2010.


  4. Announcement: Sep 3rd, 2009
    Launch: Dec 15th, 2009

    I was originally going to go with an earlier launch date under the theory that you want an expansion on the shelves for Black Friday (especially since it will likely be an all-in-one box that Turbine hopes to use to attract new players), but I’m not convinced that a large number of players are actually prepared to delay installing an expansion by a month so that someone else can pay to put it under the holiday tree-equivalent for them. If anything, launching later in the holiday season allows them to avoid some of the launch hype and, hopefully, produce a more polished product.


  5. I’m not going to give an announcement date, but I’ll give you a date it will be before: September 4. I can’t imagine Turbine not announcing their new expansion before the one major conference they attend, which is PAX.


    • Funnily enough, was just saying on teamspeak that I thought Pax was a likely candidate for announcements.


      • Being that PAX is not really a media event, it’s not typically a hotbed for announcements. In fact, I have yet to see a major game announcement at PAX, and I’ve been there all but the very first year.

        Instead, companies usually utilize PAX to build groundroots support and hype by targeting gamers directly. It’s a great method for word-of-mouth when a game has already been announced, but not such a great venue for big reveals.



Leave a Reply

