h1

Journeys of Frodo

August 7, 2009

Another quick aside…

I mentioned on twitter recently(ish) that I’d picked up a cool book in our library sale that followed Frodo’s journeys through Middle Earth*. And I promised I’d provide a couple of scans. Well, after a little searching through our strange Tolkein collection, I found it. And as I want to post them on twitter, a couple of scans I took this morning:

They’re not top-notch due to scanner and not wanting to destroy the book, but you get the idea, it seriously sketches out Frodo’s journeys, with dates, and as things progress, it even diverges to give you the journeys of Merry & Pippin, etc, along with dates. Now, obviously the first thing I looked up was my birthday (Mordor, for the record, but sadly I already knew that). Then I looked at just how good a job Turbine did of mapping out Middle Earth (and I finally know where the Ettenmoors actually are!). Anyway, it’s a great book, and here, for the record, is a shot of the cover – in case you ever get a chance to pick it up.

*Journeys of Frodo: An Atlas of J R R Tolkein’s The Lord of the Rings by Barbara Strachey. Unwin Paperbacks. First published 1981. ISBN: 0049120115

(I also discovered an old book called The Mythology of Middle Earth – again from a library sale – but I haven’t even flicked through that yet!)

7 comments

  1. Very cool, in a supremely geeky sort of way, of course 🙂


  2. Oh wow, I completely forgot I had that book too! Or rather I had completely forgotten to leaf through it again now that I had started playing LotRO once more.

    It really is a beautiful little book. I’ve got a pretty decent scanner so maybe I’ll post a higher quality gallery of the maps on my site for those that are interested… If I can do it without wrecking the book that is.

    It looks like my copy is a newer revisioning though, going by the cover scan you have there. I don’t know whether to be happy or sad about that…


    • It’s such a nice book and really interesting once you start with LotRO.

      ps. am adding you to the blogroll!


    • and yeah, my biggest concern was wrecking the book – as it appears to have survived 20-odd years in a public library!


  3. My birthday spent in The Old Forest…


  4. I remember that book from my youth. Never bought it, but I had aroused my curiosity on a number of occassions.

    I do though have a limited addition Hobbit and LotR from a late 80’s which I have opened very infrequently, due to their absolutely beauty. I have knackered copies for reading.


  5. I have this book too. A friend of the family bought it for me when I was growing up, after having learned that I was having difficulty working out exactly what was going on where.

    Very good book!



Leave a Reply

