h1

What I’m up to

March 12, 2010

So blogging has fallen a bit by the wayside. I went to London/Reading to visit family and haven’t really got back into a schedule yet.

Add to that a bit of a turn from LotRO – I’ve been there, done that. I have 750 Dol Guldur medallions now and no weapon or emblem decent enough to spend any of them on. I can run through Sammath Gul without standing on a bone pile with my eyes closed. Volume 3, Book 1, was a small distraction – but didn’t do what I wanted it to. We’re raiding Barad Guldur, and making good progress, but raiding has diminished for me somewhat, and I think in the future I won’t be quite so gung ho to go twice a week. Ah yes, the casual vibe has started to catch me…

…I still log onto LotRO almost daily and do some of the daily quests to level up yet another emblem. They’re all rubbish. I feel, as I do it, as if I’m wasting my life. I really hate the LI lottery these days. And then I realise I’m raiding with what I consider rubbish and no-one cares, so why should I struggle to upgrade? Why pursue the Symbol for crafted 2nd Age items, when it may just be a wasted piece of crafting that someone else craves a lot more than I do?

Is it the end for me? I don’t think so. There’s plenty of people who aren’t so jaded as me, and perhaps I should spend some time helping them get to do what they want. It’s no surprise to people I’ve been logging on a lot less these days – that’s just a reflection that it’s just not as fun as it once was, though it might well be in a month or so. Lifetime sub…

But I also started a new job this week. Well, it’s the same job, but more hours, different library. So I’m out the house more. And my husband is super-stressed in the final term of his PGCE (teacher training course). He’s now teaching fulltime and doing coursework, and having to apply for jobs for September. So, we barely see one another. It’s 10 weeks of hell, because we’re not really used to these levels of organisation or stress.

And then, I turned 40. Which was cooler than expected. I got some lovely presents and went for a charming meal with co-workers, which got me out of the funk I had on the actual day (was my first day of work 9am-7pm, and I was knackered when I got home!). Someone even gave me a Starfleet Command button for my uniform ;p

And, as Spinks points out, I’ve returned to dabbling in WoW pre-Cataclysm. The idea is really just to putter about for a couple of mornings a week, play with the dungeon finder, and gather some money and resources for Cataclysm. I have no expectations for WoW. It’s just this MMO I spent time in a while ago. Having no expectations helps. I don’t care how fast or slow I level, I don’t really care what my gear is, and I’m not too bothered about raiding (see my previous point re: LotRO). So it’s quite chilled out and a change of scenery. Plus we have a little guild and they’re all very accommodating with my lame questions! Good stuff.

And I have a cold. Which is what’s contributed to this week’s slump. When it’s gone I expect to feel a good deal better about everything.

But, if, as they say, life begins at 40 – then I start mine in the firm knowledge that I have a good bunch of friends both offline and online, and that I care about them all a lot. And that good things can happen at work.

4 comments

  1. I can’t comment on the being 40 part, but as for approaching WoW with a casual slant, I can agree wholeheartedly. While I’ve spent more time in-game than I would have really hoped lately, that will soon level off as I start to play solely for fun. My buddy and I make a heck of a team in PvP, and we’re working our alts up for a Priest/Druid team that will tear some BGs up. It’s a refreshing change of pace from the “I must raid at these times on these days or the world will end” mentality I’ve had in the past. At least, it will be once we get to 80 and halfway decent resil. 😉


  2. Blogging’s overrated. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. 😀


    • Yup, I agree but I wont give it up 😉


  3. *750*, wow.

    Your description of the current end-game situation resonates with me. I run skirmishes for LI upgrade scrolls and repeatables for barter tokens and item XP. I am one of the lucky ones who got a good 65 second age, but I recognize that I got unusually lucky there. I also have friends I enjoy playing alts with, but not everyone has that either. The Vol I changes were really fun to play through solo but that only lasts so long.

    At the same time, I’m not sure what I would change. Everyone wants more quality content but that takes time to develop. A few more 6-mans that can drop symbols and have interesting rare jewelry drops would be great. Maybe this is just part of the reality of MMO gaming- it’s cyclical. Not sure anyone has really overcome that yet. Like you, I’m not going anywhere yet. Let’s hope for Rohan sooner rather than later.



Leave a Reply

